Moved to Windows 7 RC, with USB memory stick

Well, in the end it came time to move to Windows7 RC.
I bought a brand new 8GB SanDisk Cruzer Micro memory stick, because I didn’t want to use my very old Transcend Jetflash 4GB.

First of all, all I wanted to do was resize 8GB partition, to create a new 4GB partition, in order to copy into Windows7 RC ISO;
GParted worked really good, but I was unable to format/assign letter/whatsoever to this piece of tecnology, inside Windows.

OK, back to B plan in 1 sec (not wanted to waste time on this issue!).
I used the old 4GB memory stick.

I read all 3 post I reported here: How to install Windows 7 from USB Memory Stick.
Unfortunately, DISKPART cannot handle my 4GB, so I had to fly over first 2 links and rely on 3rd: How to Install Windows 7 From USB Drive without Windows 7 ISO DVD.

I followed the instructions step by step and everything worked fine,
except for 2 errata corrige:

step 5
mbrwiz /disk=X /active=X
ACTIVE parameter has only 1 or 0 values (1=active, 0=inactive),

step 6
bootsect /nt60 Y:
I had to add an extra parameter: /MBR
memory stick didn’t want to boot :(

Then, Windows 7 RC ready and running. ;)

Guess what I’m going to run first ? Windows7: console freeze on Intel 915GM
;)

, ,

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

